Get Clean 2015 – Tip #20

Remove Lights from the bedroom

I have written a previous article on sleep and the importance of it.  I wanted to elaborate on this point because it has improved my quality of sleep the most.  That I am intentional about my sleeping environment.  I have found that darkening my bedroom has helped me to sleep uninterrupted, more sound, and greater recovery.

“Light inhibits the secretion of melatonin, a hormone that naturally promotes sleep. “Even if you doze off, light can be detected through your eyelids—and your brain won’t produce melatonin if it’s confused between night and day,” says Joyce Walsleben, PhD, associate professor at the New York University School of Medicine. ‘You want as much darkness in your bedroom as you can handle without tripping over things.’”

Exposure to light during the night has been implicated in depression, increased cancer risk and decreased hormone function.  Here’s an interesting article discussing the increased cancer risks associated with lack of sleep.

Comments are closed.