Get Clean 2015 – Tip #14 Ditch Dessert

Sugar isn’t just bad for your waist line and lovely figure. Some serious cellular work goes on when you eat too much sugar. Now bare with me as we use some big words and get all scientific. Sugar can increase advanced glycation end-products, or AGEs, a protein bound to a glucose molecule, resulting in damaged, cross-linked proteins. Did you catch that damaged piece? As the body tries to break these AGEs apart, immune cells secrete inflammatory messengers called cytokines. Depending on where the AGEs occur and your genetic predisposition, they could eventually result in arthritis, cataracts, heart disease, poor memory or wrinkled skin. Sounds like a lot of unpleasant affects to eating too much sugar. I know for sure the last thing I need is inflammation in my body and as I creep up in years, I surely don’t need any help with wrinkles. Think twice about that dessert, maybe pass on it tonight, save your sugar for another day, a special occasion or just once a week weakness.

Comments are closed.