Pesto Tomato Eggs

Written by Amy Baird

I would not say that I enjoy cooking.  In fact, I find it downright draining.  However, since I changed my diet a couple of years ago to more Paleo diet I have noticed significant improvements in my overall health, mental acuity, and ability to do life at a higher level.  Today I was playing around with a similar recipe and decided to adapt it a bit.

You can see here Melissa’s exuberance since cooking isn’t a typical norm for me.

Pesto Tomato

Ingredients:
 6 Tomatoes (Heirloom or Roma - I used Roma in this picture)
 6 Eggs
 1/4 Cup of crumbled Goat Cheese
 1 1/2 Cup of Spinach Leaves
 1/4 Cup of Cilantro (or Parsley if you aren't a Cilantro fan)
 1/3 Cup of Pine Nuts
 1/3 - 1/2 Cup of Avocado Oil (or Olive Oil)
 1/2 TSP Sea Salt
 3/8 Ground Pepper

Directions:

Pesto Tomato pic1.)  Make the Pesto.  Combine the Spinach, Cilantro, Pine Nuts, Salt, and Pepper in a food processor until ground finely.  Then add your oil.  Depending on your spinach leaf size, you may need more or less of the oil.  To determine that, add the oil in the processor a little at a time or use a spatula to blend the oil. You want to end with a “paste” consistency.
2.)  Pre-heat oven to 400º
3.)  Cut your tomatoes across width of the tomatoes.  Make sure that your first cut along the bottom of the tomato is just enough to make the tomato able to sit on it’s “bottom” without tipping over.  The cut each layer of the tomato approximately 1/4″.
4.)  Building your tomato tower.  Spray your cooking surface with Coconut Oil.  Place the first layer on your cooking surface.  I used the cups pictured below because it keeps the egg contained.  You could also use a muffin cooking sheet.  Add pesto layer.  Then add 3-4 goat cheese crumbles.  Add another tomato layer.  Then repeat pesto, goat cheese.  Depending on the base of your first tomato layer, you can probably do only 3-4 layers of tomatoes.
5.)  Crack and egg and place in next to your tower.  Make sure to let the yolk drain first and then place the yolk on top so you can cook your yolk to your preference (hard to soft).  It will be approximately 20 minutes.photo 1

If your curious where I adapted this recipe from, here’s the link.

Comments are closed.