Getting Outside these Four Walls

“I want to caution you against the idea that balance has to be a routine that looks the same week in and week out.”  ― Kevin Thoman

Breaking the walls

Your four walls might be limiting you.  It may be your everyday routine of going to the gym or it may be the four walls that surround you mentally trapping your true potential.  Either or, you’ve got to get outside, you’ve got to break the routine.

Lets take a look at our physical four walls. Home, work, gym, car, restaurants, etc.

It is easy to get into a rut of a routine in life, to stay in a box not really experiencing life.  We can get trapped in our thoughts and our actions.  Routine for many is comfortable and safe; it is what we know and what is familiar.  But is our routine really what is best for us? It may be good. We may be living a GOOD life, day in and day out. But is it GREAT? Is your life GREAT?

I feel very blessed to be living in San Diego.  There is so much available to me to do, see, learn, adventure, etc.  But what rut do I fall into; sleep, eat, work, train.  I know I have a good life!!  But I purposefully have to live outside my four walls; my home, the gym and work, to really have a GREAT life!!!  I’m going to try a new restaurant every month instead of the same fond place. I’m taking extra time to stop to people who I can easy rush by because I have a time line, rush rush.  I’m picking up my laptop and working in different environments, my favorite is outside in the sun.

When was the last time you drove a different route to work just to see a different scenery and stimulate your brain?  Do you eat lunch at the same little café everyday? Have you ever took a half day at work to go see the museum or take your kids out of school early to go to the zoo?  Instead of the gym today, couldn’t you go paddle boarding or hiking? Instead of family dinner at the dinning room table, pack it up and have a picnic in the back yard or a local park. Make a list of places you want to visit and things you want to do and check one off at least every month.

I’d love to hear how you’re breaking your routine and making your life GREAT!!  How was your day, your life impacted by getting outside your four walls?

Comments are closed.