Kara Funk – Pan American Silver Medal

I want to congratulate Kara Funk for clinching a silver medal this past Saturday, June 15th at the Pan American competition. She was only 1kilo away from gold!! Way to “Get it, Get it!” So proud of you!!

20130616-170927.jpg20130616-170921.jpg

Kara broke the Pan American record in her weight class in the Clean & Jerk!!! She was able to Clean & Jerk 72 kilos or 158.4 lbs. Watch that lift here:

Kara teaches Olympic Lifting at CrossFit STL. Currently, she is taking a break from teaching classes due to her competitive season. She will likely resume classes in late August. Kara is also a contributor to my blog where she just posted an article on, “Working from the knees”.

Kara is NOT a novice when it comes to athletic competition. Kara is a Crossfitter at heart! Some may not realize, but I had the privilege of being on a CrossFit team with Kara that went to the games in 2010. You may see her from time to time dropping into ICE to do a WOD with me and Karen ~ which keep us humble. 🙂 I have the privilege of having Kara as a training partner, coach, and friend. I encourage you to take advantage of her classes and workshops when she makes them available.

HOA Team Pic
(L-R) Corey Buerck, Kara Funk, Melissa Hurley, David Cornthwaite – HOA 2010
Team pic 2010
Valley Park – 2010 Games Team
One thought on “Kara Funk – Pan American Silver Medal

  1. THANK YOU MELISSA for that acknowledgment! Coming from you (such a talent) I am taken back. I love the community of crossfiters who I am so lucky to have met, learned from and worked hard with! Can’t wait to see you all soon!!

Comments are closed.