#1 of… 10 Things New Women Weightlifters Should Know

#1 of…
10 Things New Women Weightlifters Should Know

1. Lift with other Girls

Lifting with men is motivating, no doubt; however, they just don’t understand certain things. Such as why we act crazy in the gym. Only girls can understand why you have to turn up Fergalicious or Beat It on Pandora to pump you up and/or have you break out in your PR dance. Other girls, especially those who you have built a strong friendship with and have a sense of loyalty to, will keep you motivated even on the worst of days, and be smiling and cheering with you on the best of days. It’s like a secret club, but better. 

My Journey….
I started CrossFit in January 2009 as an average Joe, I couldn’t even lift my own body weight for a pull-up. Shocking, I know, I believe most of us humbly enter CrossFit in this state. I started in the class environment and built great relationships with other members, hence why (one of many reasons) I believe people love CrossFit, the community. 
I transitioned from class to training with a partner, building a relationship that pushed me and motivated me to “do more” than my own mind believed was possible. “Chase and be chased,” “Lift more because she is lifting more,” “Do it because my coach says and believes I CAN DO IT,” “Cry, vent, be real, because I’m human and it gives my friend, training partner freedom to do the same.” We grow from our struggles and we help others because we’ve “BEEN THERE”!! 

Opportunity led me to an environment where my training took place alone. My motivation had to come from within, my fight to push harder had to beat from my heart. No one to chase, no one to say you can go heavier, no one to say “you can do this” except me, alone with only my drive and many days lack of drive. There are the days when I don’t want to train, I question why I work so hard, I desire to just pack up my gym bag and go home. I have internal battles with myself, reminding myself of how great I feel when I’m done getting my butt kicked, the endorphins and the sense of accomplishment. But oh the challenge on those days, when I’m alone, the WOD is 5 rounds and after the second my mind tells me “there’s no way you’ll finish this, you should just stop.” UGH!!! Wow, thank you mind, you aren’t much help right now. These are the days of VICTORY, or TRUE SUCCESS, when I overcome my minds negativity, my bodies desire to shut down, and I push through, I persevere, I do just one more and then one more. The pounding beat of my heart says, “you don’t quit, you never quit, quitting just isn’t an option.”

I’m excited to say I’ve been BLESSED with some new training partners. Some amazing women that take on the battles with me. Some days I still train alone and some days it is refreshing to just battle my own inner demons, but I know the power of training with others, especially strong women, who push themselves, in turn push us and on their weak days, we push them.
Comments are closed.